Donate


Please consider making a donation to Big Brother Big Sisters…it doesn’t have to be on my behalf, I’d rather not take the credit for it.  I feel the message of big brother big sister is a good thing….to learn more about why I’m hoping to raise money for them, read below:

Last year I started coaching youth football to 9 and 10 year old boys and I don’t think I was ready for the impact it would have on my life.  I was raised with what I’d consider a very “old school” mentality when it came to sports; you play to win, you practice as hard as you’ll play in a game, and a shitty attitude is not acceptable.  Sports have been a huge part of my life and the best times in my life are when I played football…the comradery is like no other sport I’ve played.  The bonds you make and most importantly the life lessons are just something that can’t be taught in sports like basketball or baseball.

I started out with a rag tag group of boys who were the last kids picked.  We were considered the D team at our weight class and needless to say I went in to it thinking “dear god….help me”.   I was concerned going in to this because 1.  I didn’t know if my teaching methods would be acceptable and 2. I was the only coach in the whole league who didn’t have a kid on the team.  I’m sure parents were skeptical about things as well….I can only imagine what they first thought.

But after a few weeks I started having parents come up to me and tell me how much their kid loves having me as their coach and how some of their kids didn’t even want to play this year but they gave it one more shot and every day they come home and talk about football non-stop.

I could go on and on about my experience here, but the best part were the numbers.  Our kids went 8-1 in the regular season and had 7 defensive shutouts. The other 3 teams in our organization at our weight class didn’t even have 8 combined wins.

So with all of this being said, I’m currently trying to become a big brother.  It’s too often that kids don’t have role models who effect them in a good way and I’ve come to realize that I can be a positive influence in a kids life.  It doesn’t matter if you know them or are related…that’s what is so great about it.  It’s about finding a common bond and building from there.  Our youth is the future of this country, so if I can positively effect a hand full of kids and send them on the right path to be better men, then I’ll be extremely proud of the efforts I’ve put forth.

Leave a Reply

